A Little Bedside Organisation.

I like to keep a fairly well organised and stocked nightstand. After all, I spend a good proportion of my time in bed so I need things on hand!

I aim to try and keep the top of my bedside table fairly clear and clutter free. A light is essential, of course, for bedtime reading and I always like to have water at the ready. The picture frame and candle add a touch of decoration.

P1000760

My top draw holds all my essentials. First, beauty bits. I like to keep lip balm, hand cream, body lotion and cuticle cream nearby. For those night time emergencies and also purely because I find lying in bed to be one of the best times to do these little things. If I can slather on moisturiser and have it working away while I sleep then all the better! And of course, hair ties!

 

Healthcare items: I keep a bottle of sinex in my nightstand. I find this product a godsend! I absolutely cannot stand having a blocked up nose if I am trying to sleep and sinex clears it within minutes. Piriteze anti-histamines: I take one of these most days as I suffer from a bit of hayfever and just general dust allergies. Bach’s Rescue Remedy spray: This claims to reduce stress and anxiety. I’m not completely sure I actually believe this works but I’m all for the power of placebos. Lavender essential oil: I will occasionally pop a few drops of this on my pillow as a calming sleep aid.

Miscellaneous (but oh so essential!) bits and bobs: I keep a selection of bookmarks here as I hate to find myself without one. Earplugs: Its pretty rare that I use these but its nice to have them on hand just in case of car alarms or noisy neighbours. Headphones: I often listen to podcasts in bed if I’m feeling anxious or having trouble drifting off. These ensure I don’t disturb my other half! A nakd cocoa crunch bar: You never know when you might get a pang of nighttime hunger! I sometimes find it hard to sleep if I’m hungry so I like to keep a snack close.

In the next drawer I keep my journal, a selection of notebooks and my 5 year memory book and a pen. I don’t write in my diary everyday but if my mind is feeling overly busy I find it helpful to get things down on paper. The notebooks serve a similar purpose, if I’m feeling overwhelmed, or maybe just full of ideas I like to write some lists. I also have a couple more books for browsing. I’ve recently been learning a little about mindfulness.

P1000765

The last draw houses my wheat bag (great for aches and pains when warmed up in the microwave), an eyemask, a massage roller and some cotton gloves. When my hands are particularly dry these help my moisturiser work overtime through the night to leave them soft by morning. There’s also a lint roller (not something I use in bed obviously, its just a handy place to keep it!), a pair of socks (for chilly feet!) and a sleeping mask. I actually use the sleeping mask quite often as my other half tends to keep the light on reading for longer than me.

And that’s me all ready for bed! Night!

Rach.xx.

2 thoughts on “A Little Bedside Organisation.

Leave a Reply

