The Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette:

P1000745

I tried to resist the Solstice Highlighting palette for several weeks. There was more than one occasion where I wandered into Superdrug, swatched the beautiful shiny sparkly shades and lovingly admired the pretty Gold case before I would firmly remind myself that I already own many, many highlighters (that I seldom use anyway) and, with a sigh, would return it to its shelf.

However, on one occasion my willpower ran out. I marched in, purchased it quickly (possibly also throwing in a lipstick for good measure) and marched back out before I could think myself out of it. And do you know what? I’m glad I did. Ok, so it’s still true that I didn’t need another highlighter (or 4 as the case may be with this palette) and its still true that I don’t actually reach for it on a daily basis. However that is more a reflection on my lazy make up habits than on the wonderful item that is this palette.

Honestly. Its beautiful. I love the gold packaging (it is indeed, i have to say….sleek), I love the choice of four different shades of highlight, I love the names (Ecliptic, Hemisphere, Subsolar, Equinox) Somehow, make ups just fancier when it has a name. It just is. I love that It has a large mirror (even though I haven’t once actually used the mirror) and I love that it has three powder formulas and one cream. I mean honestly, it covers all your highlighting needs. (I’m gonna have a tough time convincing myself I need more highlighter when something else shiny catches my attention in the future).

I’m going to try hard to take a moment now to think realistically about this product and not be distracted by its glittery beauty. I think I can say there’s only two real downsides for me, and I’m so enchanted by the palette, I don’t, in all honesty care about either of them, but for the sake of clarity and realism I’m going to put them in. Firstly, the little brush that comes with it is rubbish. Piss poor quite frankly. But so what, I have my own brushes. And anyway, lets be honest, this brush could come in useful in some sort of highlighting emergency situation (They’re bound to come up surely?). Secondly, I’m not convinced the staying power of the powder formulations is anything to shout about. BUT, applying Ecliptic first as a sort of primer goes a long way to solving this, and to be fair, I’m yet to come across any make up that has ever survived more than a few hours before being absorbed by my amazing make up eating face. So it hardly feels right to hold that against Sleek or this palette of glory.

And so, in summary. I love it. It makes me happy when I look at it. I’m often (fairly) sensible when it comes to purchasing items of make up, or really anything. I think long and hard and ask myself if I need it. I think this palette goes to show that sometimes, just really, really wanting and liking something is ok too.

P1000748

Left to right: Ecliptic, Hemisphere, Subsolar, Equinox. Available at Superdrug for £9.99.

Rachel.xx.

Leave a Reply

